Race Report – Round 1 – Hardwick Hall – Bolsover & District CC

The first round of this season’s SRAM NDCXL kicked off with a bang at Harwick Hall this weekend, courtesy of organising club Bolsover and District CC.

Early rain and a damp course wasn’t enough to dampen riders’ enthusiasm, and as the sun came out and dried the course up over the day, there was some hard fought racing in all categories.



The Senior Mens race saw some close racing between Clee Cycles’ Arthur Green and George Thompson (Sleaford Wheelers). Green took the lead after a busy first two laps, and held on for most of the remainder of the race, showing he’s capable of translating his excellent form as a Junior last season into Senior successes as well. Thompson led the pair coming into the final corners, but Green made a strong bid for the line in the last few metres and was able to clinch the victory. Pedal Power’s Adam Gascoigne came home third after putting in a strong solo effort for most of the race.

Joshua Waters (Sherwood Pines) took the win in the Junior Mens race, ahead of  James Armstrong (VC Lincoln) and Bailey Wilmott (Derby Mercury) .


In the Womens’ race, Di Lee (Team Mulebar Girl) took the victory with some style, finishing a lap ahead of her nearest rival, V40 winner Maddi Smith (Bolsover and District CC). Sherwood Pines’ Madeleine Gammons took third Woman and first Junior.
Second and third Veteran Women were Marianne Heffron (Zepnat), and Eve Roberts (Derby Mercury)

The Senior Womens top three was completed by Fossa’s Sarah Naylor, and Lucy Kong (Nottingham Clarion)

Second and third Junior Womens places were taken by Clem Bird (Nottingham Clarion) and Rebecca Laurel (Cycle Derby CC)


In the V4045 Mens race, Dan Cook (Peak RC) took first, ahead of Bicicielo’s Gareth Scott and Anthony White (RDFCC)


The V50 race saw Team Jewson’s Kirby Bennett take the win ahead of team mate Geoff Giddings, racing in his first season as a V50. Leicestershire Road Club’s Nigel Gregory took third

Vet 60s and 70s were represented too, with Zepnat’s Carl McDonagh winning the V60 cat, and Denis Smith claiming the same honours in the V70

In the U14 Girls, Amelie Wayte put in an aggressive performance to take the win over fellow U14s Ava Oxley (VCUK PhMas) and Sarah Briggs (Matlock CC)

Xan Crees (Team Empella) dominated the U16 Girls race, taking victory over four minutes clear of her nearest rivals, Alice Warbrick (Derby Mercury) and Alice Standish (VC Lincoln)

In the U14 Boys, Leicestershire Road Club’s Alec Gregory claimed victory, with Derby Mercury’s Jack Husslby and Nick Edwards (Matlock CC) taking the other top spots.

The U16 boys race saw Matthew Ellis (Sherwood Pines) take the win, ahead of Nottingham Clarion’s Tom Dussek, on good form after a break from racing last season. Another Sherwood Pines rider, Timothy Elsmore-Martin took third

Christopher Hilbert rode to victory in the U12 Boys race, ahead of Matlock CC’s Sam Gould and Tom Scott (Sheffield Stars)

In the Girls U12, Jessica Tiffany claimed first place, ahead of Matlock CC’s Annabel Parker and Bolsover and District CCs Grace Fishleigh.

Braving perhaps the worst of the weather conditions early on in the day were the ever-stoic U9s. Jude du Toit (Newark CC) was first Boy, and Lauren Oldfield (Redditch) was first Girl.


(Photos courtesy of Lucy Kong and from Public Domain (Social Media)

More great photos here (General) and here (Vets) courtesy of Louise Wainwright.

There’s more pics from Lucy Kong here at the NDCXL Race Photos Flickr Group (and a video interview with two Zepnat riders!) Feel free to join the group and add photos if you wish.

Some great pics from Geoff Brightmore here

@cxhandbook were in attendance too – check out their superb race write-up and pics here