Race Report – NDCXL Round 14 – Broxtowe Country Park

The final round of the SRAM NDCXL season took place this weekend at Broxtowe Country Park, courtesy of organisers Beeston CC. Riders were challenged by one of the ‘highlight’ courses of the season, featuring a combination of muddy, technical riding and faster grass sections.

The Women’s race saw victory from Empella’s Kate George, who showed her league-winning form to hold off a strong challenge from Maddie Smith (Bolsover & District CC). Smith took second overall, and the Veteran Women win. Zepnat’s Marianne Heffron rode to a season-best performance in third overall and second Veteran. Third Veteran Woman was Louise Wainwright (Matlock CC)

In the Senior Men’s race Fossa Racing’s Lee Shunburne demonstrated his love of adverse conditions once again to take victory, over a minute ahead of his team mate Gavin Hardwicke.

Hardwicke’s second place didn’t come easy however, as he spend the race fending off challenges from Gareth Whittall (Zepnat). Whitthall rode a strong last lap and closed the gap on Hardwicke, but in the final uphill sprint just couldn’t overtake the Fossa rider.

Team Elite’s Greg Booker took the Junior win, ahead of Keiran Howarth (Nottingham Clarion) and Kieran Brown (Bolsover & District CC)

The Veteran race saw further success for Fossa Racing, courtesy of a strong ride in the V40 race by Matt Crouch. The Fossa rider had established an early lead, and despite some fast laps from second placed Mike Young (Pedalsport) managed to hold on for victory. Nottingham Clarion’s Richard Edge took third.

National Champ Tim Gould (Zepnat) closed his comeback season in style, riding through the V40 field to take the V50 win, with World Masters Champion Phillip Roach (Jewson) behind him in second. Leicester Road Club’s Nigel Gregory claimed the third spot.

The Junior race saw VC Lincoln’s U16 James Armstrong ride to victory with a clear gap on second placed rider, Jensen Young (Pedalsport), who took the U14 first place. Bailey Wilmot (Derby Mercury) and  John Webster (Matlock CC) rounded out the U16 top three, with Finn Mansfield (Nottingham Clarion) and Emile Alexander (Lichfield CC) doing the same for the U14s.

National U14 Champion Poppy Wildman (Nottingham Clarion) enjoyed her first race of the season in the champion’s jersey, and took the win over Fossa Racing’s Elena Smith. Zepnat’s Amelie Wayte battled her way to third after a tricky start.

The U16 girls saw a Derby Mercury first and second, thanks to Xan Cress and Isabelle Boon, with Heanor Clarion’s Fran Chatto rounding out the top three.

In the U12s, the familiar lead pairing of Ben Chilton (Derby Mercury) and Joshua Giddings (Heanor Clarion) were forced to settle for second and third respectively after a strong winning performance from Leicester Road Club’s Kieran Riley.

Nottingham Clarion’s Lotta Mansfield ended her season on a high with a win over Libby Smith (Matlock CC) and Grace Fishleigh.

The U9 event saw Ben Mellor ride to victory for the final time this season, with Lara Husselbee repeated this success in the Girl’s event