Race Report – NDCXL Round 13 – Chetwynd Barracks

After a two week break for National Trophy and National Championship races, the SRAM NDCXL continued this weekend with Round 13 organised by Fossa RT and Ashfield RC. Although damp, course conditions stayed relatively firm, and the compact, hilly course made for some fast racing action.

The Senior Men’s race saw a rapid start from both Nick Barnes (Zepnat) and Jonathan Harper (Mansfield RC), with both riders getting a good gap on the rest of the field on the first lap. Barnes ultimately broke away to finish over a minute ahead of Harper, a clear demonstration of the form that’s seen him selected to represent GB at the Tabor World Championships. Third place behind Harper was claimed by another Worlds-selected rider, Matlock CC’s Junior, Arthur Green.

Third Senior was Fossa RT’s Lee Shunburne, with the second and third Junior spots taken by Kieran Howarth (Nottingham Clarion) and Kieran Brown (Bolsover & District CC), who had enjoyed a race-long battle for position.

The Women’s race saw a successful end to the season for Diane Lee (MuleBar Girls), who stamped her authority on the race, despite some early challenges from Charlotte Broughton (Team Corley Cycles). Broughton ultimately took first Junior slot, but was edged out of the top three by Kate George (Empella) and National Veteran Silver Medallist Maddie Smith (Bolsover & District CC). Second and third Veteran positions were taken by Marriane Heffron (Zepnat) and Louise Wainwright (Matlock CC)

The Vet40 race earlier on in the day had seen league leader Andrew Hilton (Bolsover & District CC) ride to another victory, followed by Pedalsport’s Mike Young and Graham Rogerson (Cotswold Veldrijden).

Standout veteran performance of the day came from World Masters (50-54) Champion Phillip Roach (Jewson), who rode the rainbow stripes through the V40 field, despite the V50 holdback time. Nigel Gregory (Leicester Road Club) and Chris Rowe (Zepnat) were second and third V50.

In the Youth races, Derby Mercury’s Bailey Wilmott won the U16 Boys, with James Swadling (Nottingham Clarion) and Simeon Young (Pedalsport) claiming the second and third spots.

Jensen Yong continued the Pedalsport Young successes on the day with a win in the U14 Boys race, ahead of Leicester Road Club’s Alex Gregory and Emile Alexander (Lichfield City CC)

In the Girls races, Zepnat’s Amelie Wayte put in a strong performance to take first U14 and first girl overall, with two other U14s, Matlock CC’s Sarah Briggs and Nottingham Clarions’ Maddie Hubner in second and third overall.

The U16 girls win was taken by Derby Mercury’s Alice Warbrick, ahead of Rebecca Laurel (Cycle Derby CC) and Frances Chatto (Heanor Clarion)

In the U12, the season-long battle between Ben Chilton (Derby Mercury) and Heanor Clarion’s Joshua Giddings was resolved, as the pair once again took a 1-2 on the day, with Chilton the victor and league winner. Leicester Road Club’s Keiran Riley took third

The Girls U12 saw Nottingham Clarion’s Lotta Mansfield race to an emphatic victory, a minute and half ahead of her nearest rivals, Harriet Limb (Matlock CC) and Freya Brealey (East Bradford CC)

In the U9 event, Ben Mellor once again took the Boys win, ahead of Sebastian Varley (Derby Mercury) and Oscar Atkinson (Matlock CC). The Girls event saw Huddersfield’s Kate Shaw take the win, followed by Cycle Derby’s Lola Jamieson and Belper’s Lara Husselbee