Race Report – NDCXL Round 3 – Markeaton Park

Cycle Derby CC Cycle Derby CC

Cycle Derby CC hosted Round 3 of the SRAM NDCXL this weekend at Markeaton Park in Derby. A popular venue with racers, the Markeaton venue remained dry, and together with the width and flow of the course this made for some fast racing action.

The course was not without it’s obstacles however, with a variety of logs, steps and barriers providing the riders with the opportunity to make the ‘run or ride’ decision at various points.

In the junior field, Lara Husselbee (Belper) took the win for the girls, with Bryn Lawrence (Eastlands Velo) achieving the same result in the boys.

In the Under-12s, Matlock’s Libby Smith took the win by 20 seconds over Lotta Mansfield (Nottingham Clarion), whilst in the boys, Joshua Giddings (Heanor Clarion) fought off Aidan Lawrence (Eastlands Velo) and Owen Lightfoot (Rutland Rouleur) to take the win despite only 6 seconds separating 1st and 3rd.

The Youth race saw a Nottingham Clarion pair of Poppy Wildman and Finn Mansfield take the victories in the U14 races, with the U16 glory going to Cameron Orr (Sherwood Pines Cycles RT) and Welland Valley’s Amy Garner.

This was Mansfield’s first outright cyclocross victory; commenting on the race he said “I loved the course today and had a close cat and mouse battle with Alex. It wasn’t until the last lap that I managed to get the gap for the win

The usual busy Vets race saw Dan Cook (unattached) take the win over Pete Middleton (Zepnat) and Kristian Bravin (Leicestershire RC).

Pete Harris (Pearce Cycles), Harvey Leavan (Cadence Sport) and Grahame Clark (Ellmore Factory Racing) made light work of their 2 minute V50 delay to ride into the top 20 of the Vet field overall, and into 1st, 2nd and 3rd V50 respectively.
The final race of the day saw the Women, Seniors and Juniors head out onto a course that had held up well to the preceding races, with just a few corners having become a little more tricky under wheel.

The women’s race finished with Kate George (Team Empella Cyclo-Cross.Com) taking the win over Jules Toone, with Madeline Smith (Bolsover CC) taking third overall woman and first V40. Marianne Heffron (www.zepnat.com RTGSG Clothing) and Caroline Mansfield took 2nd and 3rd V40 respectively, with S Lomas achieving the Junior Woman glory by being the only rider from her category to finish.

The Senior Men’s victory was ultimately taken by Team Raleigh rider and previous French National CX runner-up Matthieu Boulo but not after some hard fought racing action. Although the leading group ultimately strung out, Nick Barnes (Zepnat), Team Scott UK’s Dieter Droger and Johnathan Harper (Mansfield RC) battled hard behind Boulo, with Harper’s fourth position strongly influenced by a loose cleat that prevented him from clipping in to his pedal later on in the race.