Race Report – Round 11 – Chilwell– Fossa RT

This weekend saw the SRAM NDCXL travel to Chetwynd Barracks in Chilwell, courtesy of organising team Fossa Racing.

Recent rains mean that the hilly course had both boggy climbs, and slippy descents to challenge the riders. The cancellation of other regional CX races also meant that some categories faced stiff competition from visiting riders, keen for a workout before the weekend of the National Championships.

The Senior Men’s race saw a visit from Olympian Liam Killeen (Specialized), who rode to a convincing win by a two minute margin, despite Iain Paton (100% ME) leading for the first lap. Sherwood Pines’ Cameron Orr took third (and first Junior) behind Paton. Third Senior was League leader Jonathan Harper (Mansfield Road Club), who overcame both broken handlebars and a broken chain to still finish the race.

The Women’s race was won by a clear margin by Bolsover’s Maddie Smith, ahead of Empella’s Kate George and Tracey Flectcher. Sherwood Pines Cycles’ Madeleine Gammons was first Junior.

In the V40 race, Zepnat’s Dan Alexander and Jim Bryan repeated their 1-2 placing from the previous round, this time with Alexander the victor. Beeline’s Mike Simpson took third spot.

The V50 race saw Zepnat’s Chris Rowe off the front for a number of laps, before Team Jewson-MI Racing’s Phil Roach clawed back time with some fast-paced laps to overtake Rowe and take the win. Leicestershire Road Club’s Nigel Gregory finished a minute down on Rowe to take third.

In the U16 Boy’s race, Nottingham Clarion’s Tom Dussek led at the end of the first lap, but was unable to match the pace of the chasers by lap two, and was ultimately beaten into third, with Sherwood Pines’s Matthew Ellis and Jensen Young (Pedalsport CC) taking the top two spots.

The U14 Boys race saw close action between Emile Alexander (Lichfield CC) and Alec Gregory (Leicestershire Road Club) with both riders locked together for the first few laps. Ultimately Alexander was able to pull away, finished 10 seconds ahead of Gregory at the finish. Derby Mercury’s Ben Chilton took third.

The U16 Girls race was won by Malvern Cyclesport’s Harriet Hamden, ahead of Nottingham Clarion’s Poppy Wildman and Empella’s Xan Crees.

VCUK’s Ava Oxley took the win in the U14s, ahead of Matlock’s Sarah Briggs and Lotta Mansfield (Nottingham Clarion).

In the U12’s Christopher Hilbert (Pines Cycles-Felt-Enve) continued his season-long domination with another win, with Jessica Tiffney (Derby Mercury) continuing her run of successes in the Girls race.

The U9s saw another familiar victor in the shape of Newark’s Jude de Toit, with the Girls U9 glory claimed by Romy Jamieson (Derby Mercury).

An excellent report and photo set are available at http:cyclocrosshandbook.com