Race Report – Round 10 – Bakewell – Matlock CC

Round 10 of the SRAM NDCXL saw riders tackle one of the toughest courses of the season to date at Bakewell Agricultural Centre, courtesy of Matlock CC. Deep mud forced riders into running certain sections, and kept the pit crews busy, whilst two ascents of a steep hill took their toll on riders’ legs.

In the Senior Men’s race, Hargroves’ Nick Barnes wasted no time in taking the lead, one which his consistent lap times saw him hold to the end of the race. Local rider Arthur Green (Clee Cycles) fought hard behind Barnes, but was never able to close the gap, finishing a minute behind the Hargroves rider. Sherwood Pines RT’s Cameron Orr took third place, and first Junior spot, with Jonathan Harper (Mansfield Road Club) as third Senior.

The Women’s race saw Annie Last (Liv) deliver a strong performance to take the win. As the laps progressed she built up enough of a lead to have her pit crew wash her bike while she waited, rather than opting for a two-bike strategy. Bolsover’s Maddi Smith took second (and first Vet), two and a half minutes down on Last. Sarah Lomas (Nutcracker Racing) continued her strong comeback from injury by taking third slot.

Second and third Vets were Tracey Fletcher (Empella) and Zoe Codd (Nottingham Clarion).

The Veteran Men’s race saw Zepnat’s Jim Bryan put in the fastest first lap of the day and go on to take the win, despite some early challenges from his team mate Dan Alexander, who took second. Chris Bradley made up for a slightly slower start by riding through strongly to take third, rounding out a Zepnat top three.

The glory continued for Zepnat in the form of Tim Gould’s victory in the V50 field ahead of Leicestershire Road Club’s Nigel Gregory in second, and yet another Zepnat rider, Chris Rowe in third.

In the Youth races, Empella’s Xan Crees delivered an emphatic performance, lapping the entire Girl’s field on her way to victory in the U16s, ahead of Fossa Racing’s Elena Smith and Derby Mercury’s Alice Warbrick.

The U14 Girls race saw a win from Matlock’s Sarah Briggs, with Nottingham Clarion’s Lotta Mansfield and her club mate Lizzie Edge in second and third respectively.

The Boys races saw Jensen Young (Pedalsport) make light work of the mud to clinch the win in the U16s. Nottingham Clarion’s Tom Dussek worked hard to try and pull Young back, but never quite managed to challenge the lead Young built on lap two. Sherwood Pines’ Reuben Orr took third U16.

In the U14 Boys, Lichfield’s Emile Alexander took a comfortable victory over Leicestershire Road Club’s Alex Gregory and Heanor Clarion’s Josh Giddings.

In the U12 races, Matlock’s Annabel Parker took the glory for the organising club, ahead of Jessica Tiffney (Derby Mercury) and Matlock’s Harriet Limb.

In the Boy’s U12 there was more local rider success, with Zepnat’s Sam Gould taking the glory, ahead of Beeston’s Fred Shenton-McQueen and Luke Harris (Halesowen ACC)

The U9 race saw Jude du Toit (Newark Castle CC) rider to another victory, and Romy Jameson (Derby Mercury) delivered the same result in the Girls.