Race Report – Round 6 – Swadlincote – Mercia CC / Lloyds Cycles



This weekend saw the SRAM NDCXL return for Round 6 at Swadlincote, hosted by Lloyds Cycles Mercia CC. Still a relatively new venue for the NDCXL, the race saw riders tackling a mixed bag of flat open sections, wooded technical features, and some greasy corners.

Unlike some of the other recent rounds, the Senior Men’s race saw a number of riders potentially in contention for success, with the top three riders changing lap by lap.

Langdale Lightweight’s Matthew Fostun led the race through the first short lap, but after a lap Sleaford Wheeler’s George Thompson made his intentions clear, and took the lead, with Fossa Racing’s Andrew Naylor and Dave Fletcher (Pines Cycles) close behind.

As the race progressed Fletcher moved through to take the lead from Thompson, and Hope’s Dan Booth made up for his steady start to pass George into second place. This lineup ultimately made up the top three, with Fletcher taking his second NDCXL victory in a row, almost 30 seconds clear.


Pic Matt Payne

Joshua Waters (Sherwood Pines RT) rode to another convincing victory, a lap clear of Bolsover & District CC team mates Kieren Brown and Luke Hind.




Pics Matt Payne

Bolsover celebrated more success with Maddi Smith delivering yet another dominating performance in the Womens race. Smith was never challenged at any point, building her lead by 30 seconds per lap by the end of the race. Empella’s Kate George took second place, ahead of Pedal Power’s Julie Elder, who rode consistently to edge out Zepnat’s Marrianne Heffron in the closing laps.

The V40 race saw Zepnat’s Dan Alexander ride to victory a clear minute ahead of Dan Cook (Peak Road Club), with Chris Bradley (Zepnat) taking third, after overtaking Fossa’s Matt Crouch.


Pic Fin Mansfield


Pic Matt Payne

V50 winner Tim Gould (Zepnat) made light work of not only the V50 race contenders, but most of the V40 field too, winning over a minute ahead of Steven Davies (Hargroves-Ridley). Team Jewson’s Kirby Bennett took third.


Pic Matt Payne

In the U14 Girls race, Zepnat’s Amelie Wayte delivered a decisive performance to take victory a lap ahead of her nearest rival, Matlock’s Sarah Briggs, with Alice Crane (Derby Mercury) in third.

Jessica Cobbe (Leicestershire Road Club) and Cycle Derby’s Beth Stevens were first and second U16 Girls.

In the U14 Boys, Leicestershire Road Club’s Alec Gregory was the clear winner after a strong race, with Emile Alexander and Daniel Barnes of Lichfield City CC taking second and third.

In the U16 Boys, another Lichfield City CC rider, Toby Barnes delivered an unrivalled performance to take a clear solo win ahead of Nottingham Clarion’s Tom Dussek. Leicestershire Road Club’s Alec Haines ultimately proved too strong for Nottingham Clarion’s Elliot Bannister after a long chase, and took the third spot.

In the U12 Girls race, Jessica Tiffney took another NDCXL victory, despite a strong challenge from Matlock’s Annabel Parker. RRPCC’s Ellie Swingell took third.

The Boy’s U12 race saw more close racing action between winner Christopher Hilbert (Pines CyclesFeltEnve) and PPV’s Jamie Goskick. Hilbert took the win in the final straight after both riders had battled their way through back markers on the final bends. Halesowen’s Joseph Brookes took third.

More ‘visiting’ riders took the wins in the U9 races, with Lichfield’s Alice Barnes and Redditch’s Ryan Oldfield in the top spots.


Pic Fin Mansfield