Race Report – NDCXL Round 12 – Bakewell

Round 12 of the SRAM NDCXL saw riders and spectators brave sub-zero temperatures and snowy conditions at Bakewell Showground this weekend, courtesy of race organisers Matlock CC.

By the time the senior races were underway, the snow and ice had given way to mud in numerous sections of the course, forcing pit crews to work hard for their riders.

In the Senior Men’s race, current league leader Andrew Naylor (Fossa Racing) took a strong early lead, which he defended throughout the race to take victory ahead of first Junior Arthur Green (Matlock CC). Green, fresh from his exploits at the World Cup round in Namur, battled hard throughout the race, keeping Naylor in sight, but ultimately was never able to close the gap. Naylor’s Fossa team mate Lee Shunburne took third spot, with William Gascoigne (Pines Cycles) and Bolsover’s Kieren Brown taking second and third Junior.

The Women’s race saw another convincing performance from Veteran Maddi Smith (Bolsover and District CC), who took the overall win by three minutes ahead of second placed Amy Jones. Matlock’s Louise Wainwright demonstrated her continuing ability to deliver results in tough conditions by claiming third overall and second Veteran. Phoebe Sneddon (Team Mulebar Girl – Sigma Sport), battled mechanical issues to claim third Senior, whilst Matlock’s Christine Howard was third Veteran.

In the Men’s V40 race, Zepnat’s Daniel Alexander made light work of the conditions to take victory nearly four minutes ahead of his nearest challenger, Peak Road Club’s Dan Cook. Bolsover’s Andrew Hilton was third.

Zepnat also took the honours in some style in the V50 race, courtesy of Tim Gould, who managed to lap all of the competitors within his category to claim victory. Pedal Power’s Michael Davis was second and Nigel Gregory (Leicestershire Road Club) third.

The Youth race saw a win in the U16 Boy’s for Derby Mercury’s Bailey Wilmott, ahead of Nottingham Clarion’s James Swadling and Matlcok’s John Webster.

Leicester Road Club’s Alex Haines rode to victory in the U14 Boys race, closely followed by Lichfield’s Emile Alexander. Finn Mansfield (Nottingham Clarion) took third.

U14 Elena Smith added to Fossa Racing’s successes on the day taking first Youth Girl with a strong ride, with Xan Crees (Derby Mercury) taking first U16 and second overall Girl. Second and third U14 girls were Ella Rastall (Heanor Clarion) and Peta Jarvis (4Life). Second and third U16 girls were Rebecca Laurel (Cycle Derby) and Codie Strickland.

In the U12 Boys race, Derby Mercury’s Ben Chilton shrugged off the challenges of the conditions to ride to the win over a minute ahead of team mate Joseph Kininmonth. Chilton’s usual race sparring partner, Joshua Giddings (Heanor Clarion) was a further 30 seconds down in third.

The Girls U12 saw Libby Smith (Matlock CC) claim victory, ahead of Nottingham Clarion’s Lotta Mansfield, and Elizabeth Webster (Matlock CC)

In the U9 event, Ben Mellor (Matlock CC) was first boy, and Evie Kinnemonth (Derby Mercury) was first girl.