Race Report – NDCXL Round 6 – Alfreton

Round 6 of the SRAM NDCXL took place at Alfreton Park, organised by Belper BC.  Despite recent rainfall the course remained relatively mud free, and made the most of the sloping gradient of the park, including the rooty woodland areas.

A breakaway group of four riders developed within the first lap of the Senior men’s race, featuring last round victor David Montgomery (Loughborough Students CC), Jonathan Harper (Mansfield Road Club), Matt Barrett (Renvale RT) and Nottingham Clarion’s Andy Stuart.

The group stayed together for a number of laps, until Montgomery put the pressure on, splintering the four riders apart. Harper managed to stay with Montgomery until the end but lost out by a narrow margin to take second. Behind them Stuart’s pace was eventually enough to drop Barrett from his wheel, and the Clarion rider took third position.

The Women’s race featured less close racing than the Men’s, with Team Empella’s Kate George looking incredibly strong and taking victory over second place Jules Toone by well over a minute. Continuing a strong season, Madeline Smith (Bolsover & District CC) took third overall and first Veteran.

In the Junior Men’s race, Nottingham Clarion’s Kieran Howarth rode a well paced race ahead of his Sunday National Trophy commitments to take first place, with Bolsover’s Sam Marriot taking second spot.

The Veteran men’s race saw Dan Cook (Peak Road Club) and Andrew Hilton (Bolsover & District CC) ride into first and second places after a good start. Team Empella’s Anthony Goldstraw put in a strong last lap performance, moving up from fifth into an eventual third place.

In the V50 race, last round’s second and third riders both moved up a position, with Graham Clark (Ellmore Factory Racing) and Pedalsport’s Mick Davies taking first and second this round. Philip Roach (Team Jewson) took third position. No less that five V50 riders made light work of their two minute delay on the rest of the field to ride into the top ten of the veterans’ race this round, illustrating the strength and depth of experience within this category.

Bailey Wilmot put in a convincing performance to win the U16 boys race, finishing over a minute ahead of second place rider Liam Davies (Leicestershire Road Club). Liam’s team mate Alex Haines rode in behind him to take 3rd Youth, and first U14. Nottingham Clarion’s Finn Mansfield took second U14, with yet another Leicestershire Road Club rider, Mark Zanker, in third.

April Tacey continued the run of Leicestershire Road Club riders in top slots, by winning the girls’ U16 race, ahead of Xan Cress (Derby Mercury) and Isabelle Darvill (VC Lincoln). The U14 girls race was won by Amelie Wayte (Matlock CC), with Nottingham Clarion’s Maddie Hubner, and Peta Jarvis (4 Life Triathlon) coming in second and third.

Joshua Giddings continued his run of good results to take first U12 boy, with Matlock CC’s Libby Smith first U12 girl.

Matlock CC also took the honours in the U9 boys race through Ben Mellor’s riding, with the U9 girls race won by Cycle Derby’s Lola Jamieson.